Rate this
3 Eagle Scouts celebrated at Troop 49 Lakewood Court of Honor
Submitted photo
EAGLES HONORED: From left: Matt Palmer, Gregory Goins and Christopher Minett became Eagle Scouts during an Eagle Scout Court of Honor held June 30 as part of Troop 49 Lakewood’s celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America Eagle Scout Awards. The scouts are Pilgrim High School 2012 graduates and completed their Eagle Service Projects last year.

Scouts Christopher Minett, Gregory Goins and Matthew Palmer of BSA Troop 49 Lakewood celebrated the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America Eagle Scout Award with their Eagle Scout Court of Honor June 30 at Asbury United Methodist Church in Warwick. Each scout completed his respective Eagle Scout requirements and service projects last year. All are recent graduates of Pilgrim High School Class of 2012. Minett, son of Dennis and Donna Minett of Warwick, plans to attend the Carroll School of Management at Boston College and pursue Finance. Goins, son of Steven and Diane Goins of Warwick, will attend the University of Massachusetts – Dartmouth, majoring in Graphic Design in the College of Visual & Performing Arts. Palmer, son of Sheila Russell and Patrick Bowe, and David Palmer of Warwick, will attend the University of Massachusetts – Amherst and major in Political Science. Both Minett and Goins earned Eagle Palms. Palmer received special recognition for his volunteer work on behalf of Butler Hospital.

All three scouts received acclaim for the Eagle Service Projects from their project sponsors, as well as from noted dignitaries, including U.S. Senator Jack Reed, U.S. Congressman Jim Langevin, R.I. State Senator Michael McCaffrey, R.I. Sate Representative Joe McNamara (who is an Eagle Scout) and Warwick City Council President Bruce Place, a former Troop 49 assistant scoutmaster. Special citation letters from Governor Lincoln Chaffee, U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse and Warwick Mayor Scott Avedisian were read as well. Eagle Scout Joe Connors led the Troop 49 Lakewood scouts in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Each new Eagle Scout gave reflections of the positive experiences of scouting. Minett remembered the great camping trips and personal achievements. Goins, who has been in scouting since Tiger Cubs, reflected on his efforts in recruitment, leadership development and growth. Palmer recognized all who supported his involvement in scouting and the friendships and personal development that he gained through scouting. A celebration luncheon was held afterward with a photo DVD and scout memorabilia of the scouts’ Eagle Trail journey. First Assistant Scoutmaster James Egan served as the MC for the ceremony with Scoutmaster Fred Senay dubbing in the new Eagle Scouts and issuing Eagle pins. Troop 49 Lakewood celebrated its 37th Anniversary since being chartered in 1975.

You must be logged in to post a comment. Click here to log in.
Welcome to RIjobs.com
Copyright © 2015, Beacon Communications. Powered by: Creative Circle Advertising Solutions, Inc.