7 Scouts to become Eagles in June 29 ceremony


Seven Boy Scouts from Troop 1 in East Greenwich will officially be promoted to the prestigious rank of Eagle Scout on Sunday, June 29.

The Eagle Court of Honor will be held at Archie R. Cole Middle School, 100 Cedar Avenue, East Greenwich at 2 p.m.

The new Eagle Scouts are: Andrew Thomas Basso; Patrick Corrigan Curtis; Benjamin T. Fazio; David James Navilliat; Ryan Patrick Marshall; Dominic William Rizzo; and Garrett Daniel Scanlon.

U.S. Senator Jack Reed and U.S. Representative Jim Langevin will be among those speaking at the event.

Eagle Scout is the highest rank in Scouting, and is only attained by approximately 6 percent of those who join Boy Scouts. All of the honorees were required to design and complete an Eagle Project, which provides a significant benefit to their community. Famed Eagle Scouts include President Gerald Ford; Astronauts Neil Armstrong and James Lovell; and NBA Hall of Fame basketball star and former U.S. Senator Bill Bradley.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment