Cox Sports announces nominees


The Cox RI Sports Awards has announced the 2011 Fall Scholar-Athlete Nominees, and multiple Warwick athletes are once again among those selected.

Hendricken quarterback Ryan Brannigan headlines the list as one of the nominees for football after leading the Hawks to their second consecutive Division I Super Bowl this fall.

Hendricken’s Mark Vuono was nominated for boys’ cross country after his team won its fourth straight state championship, as well as the New England title, while the Hawks Torrey Stricklin was nominated for boys’ soccer.

The winners will be revealed at the sixth annual Cox RI Sports Awards presented by the RI National Guard in June 2012 at the RI Convention Center.

RI Interscholastic League coaches and athletic directors and the Cox RI Sports Awards Committee selected the 2011 Fall Scholar-Athlete nominees.

Cox Sports and the RI National Guard will honor the state’s best scholar-athletes from Woonsocket to Westerly at the Cox RI Sports Awards. The Ocean State’s best high school scholar-athletes from each sport for every season, as well as the Team of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be announced. State Championship teams from each season will also be honored. A highlight show of the awards dinner will be broadcast on Cox Sports.

Students, fans, coaches, parents, teammates, teachers and others are encouraged to vote for their favorite scholar-athlete from the 2011 fall season by visiting

The other nominees for football are South Kingstown’s Sean Conley, La Salle’s Anthony Francis, East Providence’s Brandon Peters and Jalin Braxton, Narragnasett’s Mark Griffith, Ponaganset’s Rob Lorraine and La Salle’s Ryan Morris.

Joining Vuono in boys’ cross country are Chariho’s Mike Marsella and Cumberland’s Matt Sutcliffe.

Along with Stricklin, the boys’ soccer nominees are South Kingstown’s Zach Campo, La Salle’s colin Patch and Rainer Randell, Rocky Hill’s Zeke Farrell and Ponaganset’s Richard Barbary.

In girls’ cross country, the nominees are South Kingstown’s Paige Ethier, La Salle’s Molly Keating, North Kingstown’s Aisha McAdams, Mt. Hope’s Meghan Rainville and Barrington’s Abigail Livingston.

The girls’ soccer nominees are Narragansett’s Emily Wright, La Salle’s Madison and McKenzie Meehan, Narragansett’s Holly McConnell, Mt. Hope’s Christie Ribeiro, Smithfield’s Alexis Pike and North Smithfield’s Sidra Ethier.

In girls’ volleyball, the nominees are South Kingstown’s Alyssa Levalley, Mount St. Charles’ Kelsey Lace, East Providence’s Alexandria Amaral and Ponaganset’s Taylor Stevens.

For field hockey, a trio of girls from Cranston East – Nina Steiner, Lisa Huang and Beatrix Kanno – lead the way, along with Kiley Colucci from Bay View and Barrington’s Taylor Rideout.

The girls’ tennis nominees are La Salle’s Amanda Pitocco, North Kingstown’s Hannah Zangari, Smithfield’s Jennifer LaBarre, Mount St. Charles’ Meghan Lydon and Ponaganset’s Sadie Campanella.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment