DelVecchio, Babcock among Award Recipients


Hendricken’s Marco DelVecchio and Toll Gate’s David Babcock are among 24 players who will be honored as part of the Rhode Island Football Foundation’s annual Golden Dozen and Silver Award presentations. DelVecchio, a senior linebacker, was selected to the Golden Dozen. Babcock, a senior quarterback, will receive a Silver Award. They will be honored at the foundation’s 26th annual awards dinner on May 6.

The Golden Dozen recognizes Rhode Island football players who have excelled both academically and athletically. DelVecchio is joined by Mt. Pleasant’s Oluwadamilola Animashaun, West Warwick’s Brian Bianchi, Classical’s Darryl Brooks, St. George’s Will Fleming, Central’s Clarence Gallup, Providence Country Day’s Marquis Harper, Westerly’s Philip Lynch, Burrillville’s Steven McCormack, Tiverton’s Andrew Murray, and Ponaganset’s Scott Peterson and Johnston’s Jason Salvatore.

Joining Babcock as recipients of Silver Awards are St. Raphael’s Vincent Baccari, Shea’s Chris Fonseca, La Salle’s Chris Jeffrey, Narragansett’s Arthur Kershaw, Exeter/West Greenwich’s Jacob LaPerche, Cranston East’s Matt Marshall, East Providence’s Chris Mastrangelo, Chariho’s Mike Pagliarini, Coventry’s Brandon Parenteau, Barrington’s Ethan Snow and Scituate’s Justin Vieira.

The Rhode Island Football Foundation will present special awards at the banquet to Terrence Murray, Bob Wylie and John Pagano.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment