Fire Chief, Assistant Chief among those to take oath of office


Mayor Scott Avedisian will join the Board of Public Safety and Fire Department officials at a ceremony tonight to recognize the promotion of the chief, deputy chief and 11 others. The event begins at 6 in City Hall Council Chambers at 3275 Post Road.

Edmund B. Armstrong, officially appointed last August, will take the oath as chief, Bruce C. Cooley and Michael K. Moan, will be sworn in as assistant chief, and superintendent of fire alarm, respectively.

Further, John T. Hornby will be sworn in as battalion chief, while James F. Maxfield and Edward V. Hannon will be promoted to the rank of captain, and Christopher J. LeClair, John W. Halloran, Michael P. Mernick, Barry J. LaFleur, and Jason Fury will be sworn in as lieutenants.

Moreover, James Salisbury will take the oath of rescue lieutenant and Rev. Peter Mongeon, the department’s chaplain, will be promoted as an honorary deputy chief.

The program includes an honor guard processional, greetings from Battalion Chief Francis Colantonio Jr., an invocation from Monsignor John C. Halloran, the singing of the national anthem by Lt. John W. Halloran, greetings from the mayor and a benediction by Rev. Mongeon.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment