Hendricken names sports award winners


More than 100 Bishop Hendricken student-athletes and their families gathered May 15 to celebrate another outstanding year in Hawks athletics with Sports Awards Night at the West Valley Inn on Thursday.

Senior Dallas Sauer and Colin Tierney received the McDermott Award, presented to the outstanding athletes from each senior class. Sauer earned All-State honors as a football lineman, won the 285-pound weight class state title in wrestling and has helped lift the rugby program to one of New England’s top teams. Tierney, a seven-time All-State runner and a four-time All-New England selection, won the 2013 Gatorade R.I. Cross Country Runner of the Year award and holds the state indoor record in the 5,000 meters.

Pat Gill and E.J. Nygren earned theD’Abrosca Award as the most unsung senior athletes. As Hendricken’s starting quarterback, Gill led the Hawks to the most recent two of their state-record four straight Division I Super Bowl championships. Nygren emerged as a key player in the Hawks run to the 2014 Open State Tournament title after spending his junior year playing junior varsity.

Seniors Jonathan Finelli, Joshua Olson and Liam

Watkinson shared the Jacquard Award, presented to the hockey player who exhibits leadership, sportsmanship and love of the sport.

Randolph Divers earned the Henseler Distinguished Service Award for the Hendricken senior who displays exceptional dedication to the Hawks athletics program.

Brady Chant earned the Hayden Award, presented to the senior baseball player who displays the sportsmanship and love of the sports exhibited by the late Dennis Hayden, ‘71.

Finelli also won the Valdepenas Award, presented to a lacrosse player who exhibits the leadership, service and team-first attitude that LCPL Eric Valdepenas, ‘03, displayed as a Hendricken student-athlete. LCPL Valdepenas was killed in action in 2006 while serving with the U.S. Marines in the Middle East.

Athletic director Paul Alianiello presented several other awards at the dinner. Each All-State athlete, team captain, and participant on one of Hendricken’s 10 freshman or varsity state championship teams was recognized. In addition, coaches from each sport presented an Outstanding Senior Athlete.

Those winners are:

Cross Country – Colin Tierney; Furness Award (football) – Remington Blue and Michael Scarcella; Soccer – Brady Chant and Justin Matrone; Unified Sports – Austin Crawford; Basketball – Garfield Coustard; Hockey – Andrew Fera; Swimming – James Manni and Michael Sundberg; Wrestling – Hunter Boesch; Track & Field (field events) – Alex Cerbo; Track and Field (running events) – John Cute; Baseball – Ryan Rotondo; Golf – Justin Matrone; Shemenski Award (lacrosse) –Conor Garrahy and Nick Mariano; Rugby – Hunter Boesch and Dallas Sauer; Tennis – Christian Boyer; Volleyball – Jordan Sasa.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment