Miller retires as Touro Fraternal Association board chair


Robert D. Miller has retired as chairman of the board of Touro Fraternal Association, the largest independent Jewish fraternal order in New England. Jed R. Brandes is his successor.

Miller, who served as chairman for the past 12 years, announced his retirement at the board’s annual organizational meeting held in June at its headquarters in Cranston. The Warwick resident assumes the title of Chairman Emeritus with full lifetime voting powers on the board.

The board then elected Brandes, of Cranston, as chairman and Alan Lury of Sharon, Mass., as vice chairman and re-elected Steven Waldman, of North Providence, treasurer; Marc Gertsacov, of Cranston, secretary; and Judah Rosen, of Cranston, chaplain.

Prior to his election, Brandes served as chairman of Touro’s Student Financial Aid and Communications committees. Lury also serves as chairman of Touro’s Investment Committee and was Student Financial Aid Committee chairman. Both men are longtime members of Touro’s board of directors and are past presidents of the association.

At its recent association annual meeting, the following recently-elected officers and board members were installed: For three-year terms on the board of directors: Norman Dinerman, Stevan Labush, Ried Redlich, Barry Shaw, Steven Waldman and Steven White; For one-year terms as officers of Harmony Lodge: Lester Nathan, president; Jeffrey Padwa, vice president; Andrew Shuster, secretary; and Manochehr Norparvar, treasurer; and for one-year terms as officers of Friendship Lodge: Norman Dinerman, president; Andrew Liss, vice president; Richard Cohen, secretary; and Michael Levin, treasurer.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment