Local Roundup

Pilgrim, Vets, TG set for City Meet


The swimming teams for all three public high schools in the city will finish out their regular seasons today when they get together for their annual City Swim Meet.

The meet will take place at McDermott Pool beginning at 5:30 p.m.

All three teams have been up and down this season. Toll Gate finished 2-5 in Division II, while Pilgrim was 2-6 in Division III and Warwick Vets was 0-8 in D-III.

Rhode Island Football Foundation announces award winners

The Rhode Island Football Foundation announced its award winners this week, and Warwick is well-represented.

Thirty high school student-athletes were chosen, with 12 being designated as the "Golden Dozen," and the other 18 receiving silver awards.

While Warwick had nobody in the "Golden Dozen," it did have three silver award winners: Pilgrim's Alex Leddy, Warwick Vets' Nick Salois and Hendricken's Mead Lockwood.

The Rhode Island Football Foundation is "dedicated to mobilizing the constructive forces of amateur football for the benefit of society as a whole. It seeks to honor those boys who have excelled both academically and athletically, and also recognize those individuals who have made a distinct contribution to the game and community."

The 25th annual awards dinner will be held on Monday, May 7 at the Crowne Plaza in Warwick. The event begins at 7 p.m.

The other silver award recipients are PCD's Owie Agbontaen, Scituate's Ryan Blaine, Mt. Pleasant's Eric Bonilla, Cranston West's Ed Caputo, Classical's Patrick Comerford, Westerly's Bryant Ebright, Cranston East's Cody Lindell, Burillville's Kyle Losardo, Ponaganset's Connor Matthieu, Chariho's Ben Miller, Tiverton's John Pavao, EWG's Nicholas Shuckerow, La Salle's Terrence Sinnott, Shea's Jamal Tucker and Central's Michael Washington.

The "Golden Dozen" are Cumberland's Brian Buxton, South Kingstown's Sean Conley, West Warwick's John Morrison, Mt. Hope's Theodore Moskala, Narragansett's Matthew Pistacchio, East Providence's Brendan Quigley, Smithfield's Eric Ricciardi, St. Raphael's Davon Robertson, Barrington's Jack Ryan, Middletown's Frank Wiley, Moses Brown's Samuel Yules and Coventry's Alex Zannella.

Three special awards will also be presented to Brown AD Michael Goldberger, former coach Dick Downey and official James Peluso.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment