Safety board holds promotional ceremony


Mayor Scott Avedisian was expected to join fire department officials and the Board of Public Safety for a promotional ceremony last night at City Council Chambers of City Hall.

Avedisian and Chief Edmund Armstrong will administer the oath of office to: Francis Colantonio, who is being promoted to deputy chief; Robert Parmenter and Peter Sisson as battalion chiefs; Michael Matteson as assistant fire marshal; Robert Bubar, Steven Viner and William Manchester as captains; Thomas Brady, Erik Andersen, Steven Cahoon, Tracy Titus, Michael Scalzo and David Andrews as lieutenants; Matthew O’Donnell as rescue lieutenant; and Raymond Antonelli, inspector.

The following individuals will also be recognized as they retire: Deputy Chief Gary Meegan, Battalion Chief John Hornby, Captain George Carberry, Lieutenant Mark Ahlquist, Lieutenant Graham Mann, Lieutenant James Campbell, Rescue Lieutenant Patrick Bragg, Firefighter Brian Duckworth, and Firefighter Kash Bonn.

The ceremony will include posting of the colors by the department’s honor guard. Battalion Chief James McLaughlin and Avedisian will offer remarks, and Lieutenant William Tyler will sing the national anthem. Department chaplains Reverend Robert Marciano and Peter Mongeon will offer the invocation and benediction, respectively.

The Board of Public Safety is comprised of Chairwoman Leslie Baxter, Dr. Joseph Spinale and Thomas McGovern.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment