Special supporters honored at House of Hope 30th anniversary


In honor of their 30th anniversary as a non-profit with a mission to prevent and end homelessness in the state and end the personal and social trauma of homelessness, House of Hope Community Development Corporation held the 30th anniversary Celebration of Hope, a festive fundraiser, on Wednesday,

September 11 at the Squantum Association.

The Honorable Scott Avedisian served as honorary chair for the event and Barbara Morse Silva was the emcee. Director, Rhode Island Office Veterans Affairs, Kasim Yarn, offered opening remarks during the event that raised $65,000.

Five dedicated supporters of House of Hope CDC were presented with awards in appreciation of their unique contributions to the organization over the years. This

included the Pioneer Award, awarded to Carol Rooney; The Game Changer Award, awarded to Bret Williams of Team Williams and the Heart of Hope Award to Dr. Craig Kaufmann, Catherine May, FNP and Rahul Vanjani, MD.

All guests had the unique opportunity to tour Shower to Empower, an innovative mobile unit that provides complimentary showers to Rhode Islanders experiencing homelessness as well as case management, medical navigation

services, haircuts and other services to help restore dignity to those in need.

“But we’re not in the shower business; we’re in the housing business. Everything we do at House of Hope is in service of this - moving folks off the streets and into housing. We will never see a state that ends homelessness unless every single one of us across the state sees the injustice of a life lived on the streets, and together we all say “no more,” said Laura Jaworski, executive director for House of Hope CDC.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment