Warwick athletes honored at Cox Sports Awards


Three Warwick student-athletes took top honors at the Cox Rhode Island Sports Awards last week. Bishop Hendricken’s Colin Tierney was named the Male Athlete of the Year, while Pilgrim’s Madisyn Avella and Sarah Reilly were chosen as Special Olympics Unified Athletes of the Year.

The Cox Rhode Island Sports Awards, presented by 2nd Time Around and Manny’s Sports, is an annual award show that honors the best and brightest athletes the Ocean State has to offer. Entering its eighth year in 2014, awards are given to the top male and female athlete at each of their respective high school sports. Voting is comprised of three different categories – the general public, a board of governors, and Eident Sports.

Tierney starred on cross country courses and tracks around the region as a senior. He won the state cross country championship, medalled three times at the indoor track state meet and won the 3,000 at the outdoor track state meet. He will run for Columbia University beginning in the fall.

Avella and Reilly teamed up for Pilgrim’s unified sports teams this year, and they helped lead the Patriots to a unified basketball championship in the spring.

The Cox Sports Awards handed out the Female Athlete of the Year award to North Kingstown basketball standout Taylor Buckley. North Kingstown volleyball coach Joanne Fitts was named High School Coach of the Year and Smithfield Boys’ Swimming was named High School Team of the Year.

Fall sports winners were: Alex Corvese in football, Bryan McCormack in boys’ soccer, Tierney in boys’ cross country, Libby Dolan in field hockey, Peri Sheinin in tennis, Samantha Higgins in volleyball, Taylor Ross in girls’ soccer and Emma McMillan in girls’ cross country.

Winter winners were: Corey Daugherty in boys’ basketball, Buckley in girls’ basketball, Zach Emrich in boys’ indoor track, Maddy Berkson in girls’ indoor track, Brighton Landroche in cheerleading, Jackie Karpowicz in girls’ swimming, Ryan Cote in boys’ swimming, Allie Dibiase in gymnastics, Christian LaBrie in wrestling, Anthony Simeone in boys’ hockey and Briana Castro in girls’ hockey.

Spring sports awards went to: Dom Grillo in baseball, Eric Silveira in volleyball, Matt Manown in boys’ lacrosse, Katherine Clancy in girls’ lacrosse, Zach Emrich in boys’ outdoor track, Leia Mistowski in girls’ outdoor track, Heather Jackson in softball, Matt Kuhar in tennis and Riley Griffin in golf.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment