Camp Yawgoog staff recognized for service with scholarships


In the final Sunday Dress Parade of the summer at Yawgoog Scout Reservation, $25,735 in scholarships were awarded to 23 members of Camp Yawgoog’s staff, all enrolled in higher education institutions around the country This scholarship program, funded by Yawgoog Alumni and benefactors and facilitated by the Narragansett Council, Boy Scouts of America, is designed to retain top caliber staff members annually while also promoting higher education and vocational training. 10 scholarships were awarded, ranging from $240 to $2,500. “We are fortunate to have such dedicated staff at Camp Yawgoog each summer, we were thrilled to reward their hard work with support for their educational endeavors,” said Tim McCandless, CEO of the Narragansett Council. “Our camp staff are important role models for Scouts, we are proud to send them back to college this fall to continue their studies,” added McCandless.  

The Yawgoog Alumni Association Scholarships are awarded to recognize staff members who have demonstrated long-term commitment, dedication, and outstanding job performance to Yawgoog Scout Reservation. This year’s winners were Claire Fallon, from East Greenwich, who attends Bridgewater State University; Maxwell Fenner, from Tolland, Conn., who attends University of Connecticut; Mitchel McGonagle, from Millville, MA, who attends Worcester State University;   Matthew Delva, from Cumberland, who attends the University of Rhode Island and Ethan Bachand, from Milford, Conn., who attends the College of the Holy Cross.

Additional scholarships awarded from private donors were Aiden Kendra, from Cranston, University of Rochester, Dr. Norma J. Cowen Scholarship; Benjamin Newcomb, from Mansfield, MA, Brown University, Dr. Melvin D. Hoffman Scholarship; Nicholas Simonin, from North Providence, Rhode Island College, The Sean Finch Scholarship; Noah Rousseau, from Little Compton, RI, Rhode Island College, The O’Brien-Armstrong Scholarship; Jesse Batty, from Smithfield, Kansas State University, The O’Brien-Armstrong Scholarship; Quintin Reynolds, from Carolina, R.I., Columbia College Chicago, The Georgianna Hall Scholarship; Ed Holland, from Jamestown, National EMS Institute, Gregory F. Zavota Humanitarian Scholarship; Andrew Schmeltz, from Pascoag, RI, Community College of Rhode Island, The H. Cushman Anthony Scholarship and; Daniel Bradley, from Cumberland, University of Rhode Island, The H. Cushman Anthony Scholarship.

Yawgoog Scout Reservation has been a summer retreat for Boy Scouts for 104 years. Founded in 1916 as “A Scout Adventureland Forever,” Camp Yawgoog sits on 1800 acres of land in Rockville, Rhode Island, in the southwest corner of the state. Scouts who attend the camp have the unique opportunity to earn over 40 different merit badges, hike 6 different trails and participate in water activities on Yawgoog Pond.

This summer, Camp Yawgoog welcomed girls to camp for the first time. In February, girls were welcomed into the flagship Boy Scouts program, now known as Scouts BSA. There are now 17 all-girl troops in the Narragansett Council who are able to enjoy the legendary Scout camp along with their male peers.


1 comment on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

My parents forced me to Canp Yawgoog from 1969 to 1974. I was there when the US government pulled off one of its greatest deceptions: the Apollo moon landing. NASA truly mooned America and Camp Yawgoog was horrible.

Friday, September 27